Navigation Toggle Navigation Toggle Close

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non Emergency: (705) 949 – 6300

Police Services Board

Police Services Board Banner

The Sault Ste. Marie Police Services Board oversees municipal policing in our community. The board currently has six members; two municipal appointees, two provincial appointees, a community representative and board administrator. .


John Bruno

Chair - Provincial Appointee

John has been a member of the Police Services Board since 2015. He is a retired Superintendent of Education from the Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board with 37 year of service.  As Superintendent, John's portfolio included Safe Schools, Human Resources, including contract negotiations, and oversight of the IT department.  Most recently, John has accepted a position with SalDan Developments.  John brings a wealth of experience and community involvement.  He looks forward to continuing to serve the people of Sault Ste. Marie and giving back to this community.


Lisa Vezeau-Allen

Vice-Chair - Municipal Appointee

Lisa grew up in Sault Ste. Marie, received her Bachelor of Arts Degree from Laurentian University and attained her Not-for-Profit Management designation from St. Clair College.  She joined her first Board of Directors at the age of 18, and has remained dedicated to the charitable sector ever since from both her voluntary involvement and career development.  She has led multiple organizations in a Director level capacity in various communities in Ontario and Colorado and was elected to City Council in Sault Ste. Marie in October of 2018. Lisa is the newest member of the Police Services Board with her term commencing in 2019.


Christian Provenzano

Municipal Appointee

Christian was born and raised in Sault Ste. Marie, and currently serves as Mayor for the city and has been a member of the Sault Ste. Marie Police Services Board since 2015.  In addition to his mayoral duties, Christian has been practicing law at Provenzano Law since 2002 and has recently completed his Masters of Law degree. He has also been actively involved with a long list of local organizations, volunteering his time and expertise with groups such as Habitat for Humanity Sault Ste. Marie, the United Way, Big Brothers, Children's Rehabilitation Centre Algoma, the Sault Youth Association, the Rotary Club of Sault Ste. Marie, the Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce and the Algoma District Law Association, to name a few.


Ian MacKenzie

Provincial Appointee

Ian has a long history with the Sault Ste. Marie Police Services Board having been a member off and on since 2005, including having previously served as Board Chair.  He is a retired Regional Advertising Director with 40 years in the Newspaper Industry. He also has 50 years of experience with coaching soccer at all levels, is the former director of The SSM Chamber of Commerce, a member of SSM Medal of Merit Committee, a past member of The SSM Community Service Board, Honorary Life Member Sault Amateur Soccer Association, past Master and DDGM of The Masonic Fraternity, President of The Sault Shrine Club, member of The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 25, Director of The SSM Humane Society.


Rick Webb

Community Representative

Rick is the Director of Human Resources and Corporate Communications at Sault College and has been a member of the Sault Ste. Marie Police Services Board since 2016.  Rick has a demonstrated history of working with senior levels of management and is accomplished human resources professional with experience in all aspects of the field. He also has demonstrated his commitment to the community with a variety of non-profit volunteer experiences.

Sarah Miles - Board Admin

Sarah Miles

Board Administrator

Sarah grew up in Sault Ste. Marie, obtained a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Wilfrid Laurier University and is currently an employee with the Sault Ste. Marie Police Service, working in Investigation Services.  She has occupied a wide variety of positions within the Service, including having provided administrative support to Executive Management. Sarah has served as the Board Administrator since 2016.