Navigation Toggle Navigation Toggle Close

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non Emergency: (705) 949 – 6300




On January 1, 1965 three area Police Forces, now known as Police Services, became one. In 1964 the Townships of Korah and Tarentorus moved under the umbrella of the City of Sault Ste. Marie. Policing was the last City department to amalgamate.

The amalgamation of the Sault Ste. Marie, Korah Township and Tarentorus Township Police Forces was contentious at times.

Korah Chief Don McKiggan and Tarentorus Chief Howard Burch were concerned for their members and whether or not they would be offered employment with Sault Police when amalgamation was finalized.

Sault Police Chief Fred Clark, appointed October 1, 1964, urged the local Police Commission to allow him to move forward with plans to bring in Township officers prior to amalgamation being finalized. In November 1964 the local Police Commission, now known as the Police Services Board, instructed Sault Police Chief Clark he could do so, but following the official amalgamation they could not guarantee the employment or wages of the Township’s personnel.

On December 22, 1964 it was announced, as of January 1, 1965, the three Police Forces would become one.

Chief Clark announced a new platoon system consistency of four platoons, similar to the model we currently use, and a new rank structure. The moves were made to improve efficiency and to accommodate nearly two dozen Township personnel into the fold.

Korah Chief Don McKiggan was offered a position as a Detective Sergeant in the Detective and Morality Division, a position he previously held with Sault Police.

Tarentorus Chief Howard Burch was appointed Inspector of the Uniform Division, which included foot and mobile patrols.

The attached map shows the division of the Townships prior to the amalgamation. According to City staff, Awenge and Parke Townships were amalgamated with Korah Township prior to the amalgamation with the City of Sault Ste. Marie. In addition, Rankin, as listed, is a geographical township and not Rankin as part of the Batchewana First Nation.

In this map you can see the division lines of the City and Townships. The Fort Creek Conservation Area served as the divide between Korah and Tarentorus Townships. Tarentorus Police jurisdiction was roughly north of Northern Avenue to Manitou Drive. Sault Police jurisdiction was south of Second Line with the western border being Farwell Terrace.

Thank you to the City of Sault Ste. Marie for providing insight into the history of the City and Township lines. In addition, we wish to thank the Sault Star for their cooperation on this project as much of the information is courtesy of the Sault Star archives.